Heikki Sarmanto: Northern Dreams (Rêves du Nord) for various solo instrument & piano


A pioneer of Finnish modern jazz, Heikki Sarmanto (1939–) is renowned for his renderings of jazz numbers. No wonder, therefore, that broken chords and familiar keys resonate and sit well under the hand in the piano part of this Northern Dreams suite. The solo part is originally written for tenor saxophone and is also available in arrangements for alto sax, flute, clarinet, bassoon and trumpet. The solo passages for piano are like stylised improvisations. In addition to jazz idioms, the suite features Chopin-style arpeggios.
Tenor sax 55011-550-7, € 24,50 Buy now
Alto sax 55011-585-9, € 24,50 Buy now
Flute 55011-583-5, € 24,50 Buy now
Clarinet 55011-584-2, € 24,50 Buy now
Bassoon 55011-586-6, € 24,50 Buy now
Trumpet 55011-587-3, € 24,50 Buy now