Einojuhani Rautavaara: Hajoaminen – Four songs for voice & piano


Published for the first time in 2024, Einojuhani Rautavaara’s (1928-2016) Hajoaminen (Dissolution, 1956) is set to four grim poems by Finnish poet Lassi Nummi (1928-2012). Plaintive motifs and the use of ostinato creates a static athmosphere and links the songs together. Elegia (Elegy) is Rautavaara’s first composition where he used twelve-tone technique. Buy now