Koskinen, Juha T.


Juha T. Koskinen (born on 26 October 1972) studied composition at the Sibelius Academy in 1990-98 with Kalevi AhoAnders EliassonPaavo Heininen and Kaija Saariaho, and in Lyon under Philippe ManouryGilbert Amy and Philippe Schoeller. He also spent a year studying at IRCAM, Paris in 1999-2000. Koskinen has taught composition at the Aichi University of Arts as a visiting professor since 2016.

Koskinen has composed operas, orchestral works, music for chamber ensembles and several solo pieces. He is regarded modernist and in his music he seeks colors and sound worlds, and explores time, movement and counterpoint.

Fennica Gehrman publishes Juha T. Koskinen’s chamber music including his String Quartets Nos. 1-3, Soleil noir (Five Miniatures for string quartet), Fourrures for clarinet, violin, cello and piano as well as Seppia for solo violin. One of his most popular pieces is Omaggio a Smilla for violin, trumpet and string orchestra. Among his other orchestral works are the Symphony No. 1 (2006) commissioned by the Finnish Broadcasting Company and Seishin (2020/22) for wind orchestra and percussion.

Omaggio a Smilla


for solo violin, trumpet and strings

solo vl, trumpet, str

Duration: 17


(2010 / rev. 2022)

for wind orchestra and percussion

3(III=picc)25(IV=ebcl;V=bcl)2-asax-tsax-barsax-44(III=crt;IV=fhn)32(I=barhn)-14 Percussion: 2 Tom-toms, Log Drum, Conga, Bass Drum, 3 Suspended Cymbals, 3 Tamtams, 6 Gongs, Crotales, Marimba, Tubular Bells, Claves, Temple Blocks, Cabasa

Duration: 16

Symphony No. 1


for orchestra


Duration: 40