Alakotila, Timo


Composer, musician Timo Alakotila (b. 1959) is a distinguished, active and versatile talent in the Finnish music scene whose long career working with different genres of music – folk music in particular – has been ground-breaking. Alakotila graduated from the Helsinki Pop & Jazz Conservatory in 1992, majoring in composition. He plays the piano and the harmonium, and has previously been a member of JPP, a fiddle group originating from Kaustinen which  became famous for its innovative style. Alakotila is a teacher at the Sibelius Academy of Uniarts Helsinki and at the Helsinki Pop & Jazz Conservatory, and he also works as a visiting teacher in Finland and abroad.

Alakotila’s compositions showcase his versatility. He has produced highly acclaimed classical music pieces and arrangements for Pekka and Jaakko Kuusisto, the Meta4 quartet, the Kamus and Tempera quartets, Eeva Oksala, Dalia Stasevska and Jorma Hynninen, among others. His Prelude to Sibelius’s Violin Concerto was performed at the BBC Proms in 2019 with Pekka Kuusisto as the soloist. Alakotila has also devoted a significant part of his career to jazz music compositions and collaborations with various orchestras, such as UMO Jazz Orchestra.

Timo Alakotila has composed a wealth of works for solo instruments and orchestra such as Sketches from Folk Scenes for solo violin, string orchestra and harmonium, Between Three Worlds – a concerto for violin and brass band, Piano Concerto No. 2 (for piano and strings) and Harp Concerto. Other orchestral pieces include Concerto grosso for string orchestra and Forsman. Published pieces include Koivu ja tähti and Valo (both for an SSAA choir), Hope for string quintet and piano, Illusions (Kangastuksia) for flute, violin, violoncello and piano as well as two string quartets, nos. 3 (“La cantina”) and 4.

Alakotila has worked with several musicians and groups in Finland and around the world (Maria Kalaniemi, JPP, Nordik Tree, Karen Tweed, Kristine Heebøll, Tango Orchestra Unto, T for Three, Johanna Juhola). His list of recordings is impressive: Alakotila has worked on more than 250 releases in different roles. He has been the Artistic Director of the Kaukas EloFolk festival since 2017 and has also developed a method for folk music improvisation. Timo Alakotila was awarded the title of Artist Professor in 2011.

[composer nimi=’Alakotila, Timo‘]

Concerto for Free Bass Accordion (V Fughetto)
Vox Artis/Ollitapio Lehtinen, sol. Johanna Juhola

Concerto Grosso (Polska)
Esko Järvelä, Marion Göbel, Mauno Järvelä, Petri Hakala, Roger Tallroth, Siiri Virkkala

Between Three Worlds (Violin Concerto, 1st movement)
Helsinki Police Symphonic Band/Sami Ruusuvuori, sol. Eeva Oksala